Maggie Ringling Memorial Award: Advancing Equality for Women & Girls

The YWCA Muskoka Board of Directors created an award in honour of Maggie Ringling, a great friend to those who founded YWCA Muskoka. The Board of Directors will annually recognize an individual or organization for breaking down barriers and advancing
opportunities for greater social and economic equity for women and girls.

2019 Maggie Ringling Award recipient: Dr. Eva Olsson author, reknowned speaker and survivor of the Holocaust for her courage and powerful legacy of love over hate. Read more here:  

2018 Maggie Ringling Award recipients:  YWCA’s First Board of Directors and Founders
Sheryl Manolakos, Susan Biehn Smith, Donna Brock, Angelika Clubb, Maria Duncalf Barber, Donna Brock, Gayle Dempsey, Kate Douglas, Catherine Dry, Anita Fieguth, Sheilah Forward, Suzanne Gilbert, Eleanor Gleeson, Kathy Gordon, Marnie Hestand, Lynn Kameka, Cathy Kuntz,  Barb Leek, Jan McDonnell, Kim Olsson, Suzie Philips, Jill Reeves-Bos, Carey-Ann Sprout, Diane Wettlaufer

2017 Maggie Ringling Award recipientsThe Kenny Family for over 10 years of philanthropy providing accessible programs to girls in Muskoka. 

2016 Maggie Ringling Award recipientBeth Ward for her dedication to the Muskoka Community.

2013 Maggie Ringling Award recipientsSusan & Dr. Peter Schaal for their philanthropy in supporting local community groups.

2010 Maggie Ringling Award recipients; Opening Doors, a volunteer organization that encourages young women to pursue careers in science and technology.

2009 Maggie Ringling Award recipientsMuskoka Women’s Advocacy Group.

2008 Maggie Ringling Award recipientsKelly deMos & Dan Cole.



Awards received by YWCA Muskoka, our staff, and our volunteers

YWCA Muskoka was awarded the Paul Harris Fellowship by the Rotary Club of Bracebridge and Muskoka Lakes in 2016. 

Also in 2016, YWCA Muskoka was nominated by the Canadian Women's Foundation and shortlisted to 1 of 4 organizations in the Americas for the international With and For Girls Award given to grassroots, community organizations that are girl centered and girl led. 

The Jessie Dunn Award was given to Hannah Lin for her service to children and youth of Muskoka by Family Youth and Child Services Muskoka in 2014. 

The Carolyn Bray Award: given in honour of Carolyn Bray, will be given to a YWCA staff member demonstrating spirit, dedication and creativity within a Member Association and recognizes how an individual has made a marked difference in the community served. In 2010, the inaugural award was given to Carolyn Bray, posthumously, and was accepted in her memory by Tony and Savannah Robinson and Marg and Barry Bray.

YWCA “Outstanding Young Woman” Award recognizes a young volunteer or staff person, currently within the YWCA movement, and celebrates leadership, commitment and passion in the advancement of the work of the YWCA with women and girls at a local, national or international level. The 2010 YWCA Canada ”Outstanding Young Woman Award” was presented to Virginia Hastings – President of YWCA Muskoka. Her leadership, empathy, dedication and commitment guided YWCA Muskoka through a particularly turbulent time and never lost sight of a future of passion, possibility and choice.

Muskoka Outstanding Business Women's Awards 2010:
- Lynda Hutt, Employee of the Year
- Virginia Hastings, Heart and Soul Award & Young Entrepreneur Award

Lake of Bays Chamber of Commerce Business Excellence Award 2009

Muskoka Outstanding Business Women's Awards 2009- Carolyn Bray, Heart and Soul Award

Ontario Volunteer Service Awards

2018 - 5 years:  Pamela Steel & Catherine Cole
2014 - 5+ years:  Susie Phillips, Ann Newroth, Virginia Hastings,  June Salmon & Karen Terry


Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Receive updates straight to your email inbox and stay in the loop with the YWCA Muskoka.

Fill out my online form.




205 Manitoba Street, Unit 4, Bracebridge ON P1L 1S3